Broken Hill’s unique Jewish history will be commemorated tomorrow – Sunday – at the synagogue in Wolfram St where two benches will be dedicated to key figures of the local Jewish community.
One bench will honour Reverand Abraham and Mrs Franceska Berman, the synagogue’s last serving full-time rabbi and rebbetzin, who left Broken Hill in 1994. The other bench will be dedicated to former trustee of the synagogue, Alwyn Edelman, and former Broken Hill Historical Society President, Harold Griff.
The weekend long event began last night – Friday – with an evening service and Shabbat, which continues today – Saturday – with a morning Shabbat service also. These events mark the first time the synagogue has been active since 1960 when it served some 200 members of the Jewish community.
Dating back to the Gold Rush of the late 1800s, it saw many in the Jewish community come to Broken Hill and become involved in business and society, with a Jewish cemetery consecrated in 1891.
The synagogue’s foundation stone was placed in 1910. The building was converted to the Synagogue of the Outback Museum in 1991 and is now owned and operated by the Broken Hill Historical Society.
Members of the public are invited to attend the dedication event – which will feature a choral performance by Broken Hill Community Voices and speeches from historians, politicians, and members of the Jewish community – at the synagogue (165 Wolfram St) on Sunday, August 13 from 10.30am. A lunch will follow at the Salvation Army Citadel (196 Wolfram St) from noon.