Big night of grand finals for Broken Hill Netball Association

By Liz Brebner and Martika Harrison

The Broken Hill Netball Association A Grade Grand Final game was held on Tuesday Night.

Jesters Pink took out the Broken Hill premiership, winning by one goal.

They defeated the West Flames Black 22 to 21.

South Australian Umpires, Ashley Caldwell and Kayla Rice travelled to the Grand Final match to umpire the A grade game.

Shante King was awarded the most valued player and Olivia Eastburn was presented the most valued player runner-up award.



They also assessed Broken Hill’s upcoming umpires.

A big congratulations to Ellie-Rose Wheeler who was awarded her National C badge accreditation for umpiring.

Piper Murray was awarded the most improved junior umpire and Madison Lambert was presented the most outstanding junior umpire award.


The first match of the evening was the Under 11s where St Joe’s Bluebird team defeated the Jesters and the most valued player award went to Piper Wilson.

The next game of the evening was between St Joe’s Pink and West Flames Red in the under 14s group.

St Joe’s Pink defeated West Flames’ Red, 21 to 17.

The under 17s match was fast paced with supporters cheering the teams on from the side lines.

The St Joes under 17s defeated the West Flames Silver 19 to 15.

Representatives from Synergy Physiology and Pilates Clinic (Under 14s sponsor) and Fillery Anti Ware (Under 17s sponsor) p

A-Grade MVP, Shante King.
A-Grade MVP, Shante King.

resented the most valued player awards.

Sienna Beavan was awarded the most valuable player for the Under 14s. Macie Bottrell was presented the most valued player runner up award.

Brad Fillery presented the most valued player award to Abbey Butcher and the runner-up award to Aaliyah Walden for the Under 17s group.


The B Grade most valued player award had a three-way tie.

The most valued players in B Grade were Candice Wheaton, Madison Lambert and Amy Pumpa.

The B Grade match saw West Flames Black defeat United 23 to 15.

The C Grade match saw Willyama defeat Divas Red by 8 points.

The final scores were 25 to 17.

Imogen Jeffrey was awarded the most valued player and runner-up awards went to Jenna Cullen, Tanner Lewis and Shania Burns.

Congratulations to all the premier teams for 2022.

Support the Barrier Truth!

We are a small, independently owned newspaper. If you got something from this article, giving something back helps us to continue publishing the truth from the Broken Hill region. Every little bit counts.

More Articles