Cueing Up Champions

The Broken Hill 8-Ball Association held the grand finals for all divisions last Saturday at St John’s Hall. Catered by St John’s volunteers, the event featured the top two teams from the Super League, Division One, Division Two, and Division Three, vying for their respective 2023 divisional championships.

In Division Three, the Rising Sun team, Nic Nacs, were defeated by Musos’ team, the Knights. Nicholas Collingwood of the Knights was named the best player of the grand finale.

In Division Two, the Demo Jokers triumphed over the Musos Army. Zach Everuss of the Jokers was named as the best player of the grand finale.

In Division One, the Roar bested the Stars with a 9-7 victory, and Shaun Durbridge was crowned the best player of the grand finale.

In the Super League, the Stickmen defeated the Demons 9-3, with Rhys Williams earning the Ken Cooke Medal.

Following the grand finale, the individual with the most team wins for all 14 teams in the competition were announced as follows: Stickmen – Aaron Williams; Roar – Adrian Winter; Stars – Shaun Durbidge; Demons – Scott Farquhar; Outlaws – Jessie Sumalinog; Eights – Ray O’Donnell; Jokers – Brad Cece and Zach Everuss; Army – Damien Gaiter; Zorros – Ashley Christos; Knights – Danny Murray; Nic Nacs – Steven Daley; Breakaways – Rachel Mason; Cobras – Warwick Beverley; and Jays – Colby Donohoe.

The “most team wins” for each division were announced as follows: Divisions Two and Three – Brad Cece and Zach Everuss; and Division One (John Hall Trophy) – Aaron Williams.

Aaron Williams also earned the award for the most Master Breaks/Shots of the year, achieving 21 pot-outs across the season.

The Divisional Teams of the Year were announced: for Division Two/Three, the team comprises Brad Cece, Zach Everuss, Ashley Christos, Rachel Mason, and Kyle Hodge; for Division One, the team consists of Aaron Williams, Adrian Winter, Shaun Durbidge, Jake Caruana, and Scott Farquhar.

The results of the 2023 Divisional and Open Championships were revealed, with Rachel Mason and Harold Linley named champions in Divisions Three and Two, respectively. Shaun Durbridge and Adrian Winter were the champions in Division One and the Super League, respectively.

For the Ladies’ Open Championships, Hayley Howard emerged as the champion, defeating runner-up Karina Thurn. In the Open Championships, Adrian Winter triumphed over runner-up Glenn Williams.

Jake Caruana received the Skye Wasley Trophy for being the best player at the 2023 State Carnival.

In a post on their Facebook page, the 8-Ball Association expressed gratitude to its members and players for a successful 2023 season and thanked St John’s for their continued support and catering during the grand finale weekend.

The season has concluded, and the Association will hold their Annual General Meeting before the commencement of the 2024 season.

Support the Barrier Truth!

We are a small, independently owned newspaper. If you got something from this article, giving something back helps us to continue publishing the truth from the Broken Hill region. Every little bit counts.

More Articles